How to screen record a specific window or entire screen online

In this article, we will show you how to record a specific application Window or the whole screen.

Head over to to our screen recorder at https://www.veed.io/screen-recorder
The site will ask you to select a layout right after you opened it. Select the Layout you wish to use.
Our website will ask for permission to use the camera to record and/or share the screen. It will ask you through the browser so we recommend using Chrome as shown in the video.
You will be asked to select entire screen or just an application window.
For recording with webcam, you have an option to place the webcam on different edges of the screen by clicking on the gray rectangle.



Click on the Red record button just under the window to start recording.
You can pause the recording by clicking on the pause button that is on the right side of the time that shows how much you have recorded. The mute microphone button is on the left side and the switch off camera button is on the right.



After you are done with recording, click on the Red record button again to stop the recording.
You will have 4 options: to replay the video, edit the video in veed.io , download the video to your computer and retake the video.

At this point the recorded video is not yet saved. If you close the window now, the video will be lost. You need to click on either "Edit" or "Download" when you are recording on the screen recorder page and on "Done" if you are recording in a New Project in the editor. Only then will the video be saved to our servers.

You can select the Edit button to edit, trim or crop the video you just recorded or click the Download button if you only want to download the video you recorded.
If you are finished with editing in veed.io , click on the Export button at the top right side of the screen and click on Export video.
The video will render out and it will redirect you to the Download page where you can download the video.

Here is a list of layouts that are available currently:

Screen & Webcam
Webcam Only
Screen Only
Audio Only
Slides & Webcam



When you select the Screen & Webcam layout, you will see the gray rectangles on the sides. These are the placements you can choose for your webcam.
Selecting the Audio Only layout will record the audio only. The output file will be a video file and not an audio file.

Change the Settings

Click on the gear or settings icon on the lower right bottom to change the settings before you start recording. Below is the options you can change:

Disable Countdown - toggle this setting to turn off the countdown when you start recording.
Disable Timer - after enabling this, the timer which shows how much time you’re recording will be hidden
Mirror Webcam - enable this if you want to flip your webcam
Change Screen - click on this if you want to change your screen that you will record with
Layout - click on "Change Layout?" If you want to change your layout



How to Manually enable Screen, Camera and Microphone permissions

Chrome and Edge

Click on the Lock icon next to the URL of the page.
Once the Site information panel appears, make sure that the camera and microphone are both set to "Allow" so that it can access them.



After you have made sure that you set both of them to "Allow", refresh the page. You can also click on the "Site Settings" or "Site permissions" to see a broader list of permission settings.

Firefox

When you first open the recorder on Firefox and select the layout, the site should ask you for permission to use your Camera, Microphone, and Screen which you need to allow. It should look like this:



In case you allowed the site to use all of the devices but it still shows that it requires permission, click on the Lock icon next to the URL of the page and click on the arrow button next to the "Connection secure" message. Then click on the "More Information" button at the bottom of the window.





A window will appear where you need to go into the "Permission" tab and scroll down to where you see the "Use the Camera" and "Use the Microphone" options.



Deselect the "Use Default" option on both of them and set them to "Allow". After this close the window and refresh the page.



How to record from your Workspace

On your Projects tab, click on the New Project or Create New Project.
Then click on the Record button and you’ll be asked to choose a layout so you can start recording.



Once you’re done recording, you can click on the white play button in the middle to watch the replay. Then select either Done or Retake. If you click on Done, the recorded video will be imported on our Project Editor for editing while if you click on the Retake, you will then record a new video.



Please note, if you do not click on the Done button, or if you click on the back button on the top left or the x button on the top right, your video will get lost and will not be imported on our Project Editor.